Home » Intermediate Care » Habilitative Care and Intermediate Care Facilities

Habilitative Care and Intermediate Care Facilities

Unlike nursing homes, intermediate care facilities typically focus on habilitative and assisted living care. These facilities offer services that may require hiring within multiple areas of the medical field to provide care to patients.

What is Intermediate Care?

Nationally, there is no clear cut definition of what an ICF is, and each state has its regulations and requirements.

Services provided by these facilities may differ depending upon:

Facility size
Facility staff
Resident needs

The Types of Intermediate Care

When discussing the basics of what is intermediate care, there are three programs based on the level of care.

ICF/DD – Intermediate Care Facility/Developmentally Disabled
ICF/DD-H – Intermediate Care Facility/Developmentally Disabled-Habilitative
ICF/DD-N – Intermediate Care Facility/Developmentally Disabled-Nursing

ICF/DD and ICF/DD-H are both facilities that provide developmental, habilitation, and personal care to individuals who need nursing care on an intermittent basis. These individuals may need help with small tasks like clothing themselves, preparing meals or personal hygiene. While the care is 24 hours, they do not require constant nursing care and supervision. On the other hand, an ICF/DD-N facility provides services to medically fragile patients who have a high risk of forming a developmental disability if they do not receive the proper care.
Intermediate care facilities provide a needed service between at-home care and a nursing home, allowing those with disabilities to live their lives with assistance.